Newly-Elected WASPA Mancom to Steer Mobile Industry Association in 2014

Published on: 26th March 2014

The Wireless Application Service Providers’ Association of SA (WASPA) has a new Management Committee (Mancom) headed by Chairman, Casper de Villiers.

A mobile industry veteran of some 20 years standing, Mr De Villiers says the Association’s seven Mancom members are set to redouble efforts aimed at boosting WASPA’s key consumer protection and industry lobbying mandates during 2014.

“WASPA was constituted almost a decade ago to foster consumer confidence in the Wireless Application Service Provider (WASP) industry through responsible self-regulation. The relentless fine-tuning of the WASPA Code of Conduct and the transparency evident in such platforms as the WASPA website have been instrumental in ensuring consumer confidence in both WASPA and our 275 full and affiliate members that have committed to play by clearly-defined rules for the good of the industry,” said Mr De Villiers.

On WASPA’s planned contribution to the wider mobile industry during the upcoming year, Mr De Villiers said the tenth anniversary of WASPA’s founding would see a revamping of the Code of Conduct that formed the original impetus for the Association’s incorporation. “We plan to simplify the Code to make it more nimble, easier to enforce and substantially easier to understand. Ten years of self-regulation have created a wealth of knowledge and experience that now needs to be consolidated into a streamlined single document,” concluded Mr De Villiers.

The WASPA Mancom members for 2014 – with their working group portfolios in brackets – are Casper de Villiers (Chair), Anthony Ekerold (Vice Chair and Legal), Ian Flanagan (Code of Conduct), James McNab (Communications), Janene Matsukis (Lobbying), Moeketsi Nonyana (Membership) and Deon van Heerden (Treasurer and Finance).